Radford University offers the Master of Arts and the Master of Science degrees in music. 
   The Master of Arts program provides advanced study for musicians and music scholars in preparation of professional careers or doctoral study. The Master of Science program provides advanced study and opportunities of music therapists to refine existing competencies and to attain new ones.

 
 Radford University    
 RU Graduate College     
 College of Visual and Performing Arts      
 MA in Music for Music Educators       
This link opens in a new browser window

  News and Upcoming Events


 

November 2012 Performance Events


November 3, Saturday, 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, The Ice Princess, Children's Opera

November 4, Sunday, 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Senior Recital – Bethany Wine, mezzo-soprano, assisted by Erica Sipes

November 6, Tuesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Percussion Ensemble Concert

November 7, Thursday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Chamber Orchestra

November 9, Friday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Guest Recital - Andrew Smith-violin, & Elina Christova- piano

November 11, Sunday, 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Senior Recital – Sara Slone, soprano, assisted by Erica Sipes

November 12, Monday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Symphonic Band, Student Conductor Concert

November 13, Tuesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Jazz Band II and Combos

November 29 – December 1, Thursday – Saturday, Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Tri-State Chamber Music Festival
November 29, Thursday, 8:00 p.m., RU Wind Ensemble and Faculty Chamber Winds Concert

November 30, Friday, 8:00 p.m., RU Concert Jazz Ensemble & Jazztet Concert

December 1, Saturday, 1pm, Tri-State Chamber Winds Concert

November 30 and December 1 – Friday and Saturday, 6:00 p.m., Muse Banquet Hall, Madrigal Dinners   Ticket Information

December 2012 Performance Events


December 3, Monday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Guitar Ensemble Concert

December 7 – 9, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, Bondurant Auditorium, Preston Hall, The Nutcracker Ballet, Friday and Saturday at 8:00 p.m., Saturday and Sunday at 2:00 p.m.   Ticket Information

December 7, Friday, 8:00 p.m., St. Andrews Church (Roanoke), RU Holiday Choral Concert

February 2013 Performance Events


February 7, Thursday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Faculty Recital, Christopher White, Woodwinds; Wayne Gallops, Piano; & Robert Sanderl, Percussion

February 12, Tuesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Spring Honors Recital

February 20, Wednesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Guest Recital – An Evening of Baroque Music with Judy Bevans, Harpsichord, and Leon Kok, Violin

February 26, Wednesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Lecture Recital – Victoria Fischer, Exploring Bartσk at the Piano

February 27, Wednesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Band Concert – Wind Ensemble & Symphonic Band

March 2013 Performance Events


March 4, Monday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Mid-Winter Madrigals

March 5, Tuesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Faculty Recital – Robert Trent, Guitar

March 7, Thursday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Jazz Ensemble & Jazztet Concert

March 18, Monday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Faculty Recital - Almost Spring: Nitza Kats, Piano, and Friends

March 21, Thursday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Faculty Recital - Pandemusicum: Christopher White, Director, Composer and Woodwinds

March 28, Thursday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Jazz Band II and Combos

April 2013 Performance Events


April 3, Wednesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Chamber Orchestra Concert

April 5 – 7, Friday – Sunday, Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU International Guitar Festival, Schedule TBA

April 9, Tuesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Percussion Ensemble Concert, Percussion in Motion

April 12, Friday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Concert Jazz Ensemble & Jazztet Concert

April 14, Sunday, 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Opera Scenes

April 15, Monday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Opera Scenes

April 16, Tuesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Guest Artist – Massimilano Valenti, Piano

April 17, Wednesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Band Concert – Wind Ensemble

April 22, Monday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Choral Concert – Spring Oratorio

April 23, Tuesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Guitar Ensemble Concert

April 24, Wednesday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Symphonic Band and Chamber Winds Concert

April 30, Tuesday 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, 2013 Gala Concert - 2012 Ibla International Grand Prize Winners

May 2013 Performance Events


May 2, Thursday, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, RU Jazz Band II and Combos

    Radford University Performances Video


 

Department Information
Ensembles      
Music Faculty      
Graduate Catalog      
Assistantships      
Performance Facilities      
Performance Calendar      
Department Statistics      
Accreditations      
Alumni Connection      
Music Department Home      
 Music Department Highlights

Radford University is now recognized as an All-Steinway School.

Master of Arts degree in Music for Music Educators

For Additional Information about the graduate music programs contact: Dr. Bruce Mahin, Graduate Music Program Coordinator, (540) 831-6174, bmahin@radford.edu
Radford University Department of Music  •  P.O. Box 6968  •  Radford University  •  Radford, VA, 24142  •  Telephone 540.831.5177  •  fax 540.831.6133

EO Statement  Privacy Statement  |  RU A-Z Index  |  RU Directory  |  Contacts@RU  |  MyRU

© 2010 RU Department of Music, All Rights Reserved

  

Design by: NRV webworks